Blessing at the Good Newz Rehab Center

Today was Day Five of the Hunger Strike, and I was blessed that my friends and center volunteers since the beginning Leslie and Melanie came out to sit with me for three hours, then we went back to the center for the blessing. Thank you for your support, ladies!

We set up near the Farmer's Market as there was more traffic there on a Saturday

We set up near the Farmer’s Market as there was more traffic there on a Saturday

Overall I’m not feeling too bad physically so far, some indigestion kinda feelings, which I don’t get since there’s no food in there to indigest, and one day I had some major body aches and felt like my muscles were burning. I’m also having trouble sleeping, probably due to the stress and the lack of food in my system.

We stayed from 9-12, then went back to the Good Newz Rehab Center for the blessing of the center, all who enter, and our animals. This was something we intended to do since moving, and several times someone volunteered to coordinate it and it just didn’t seem to come to fruition.

Now we decided we REALLY needed it, so Jay, our social media manager, took on the project and did a wonderful job. He was so enthusiastic, and he guided us from the gate, to the front door, to the interior, and then finally to the sheds. All religions were invited and welcomed, and everyone who wanted to speak was welcome to do so. As a result, I came from an interfaith spiritual perspective, Rev. John Ericson is a Lutheran Minister, we had a shaman ceremony, an indian prayer, and a mother earth blessing with saging of the entire property and the inside of the house.

Below are some photos for your enjoyment. Some of our dogs practiced their leash skills and came along with us at each stop.

Jay starts the blessing off at the gate, as a symbol of protection and welcoming

Jay starts the blessing off at the gate, as a symbol of protection and welcoming

Our new Director of Operation, Mark with girlfriend Laurel

Our new Director of Operation, Mark with girlfriend Laurel

Next we blessed the front door, where our dogs enter into a new life

Next we blessed the front door, where our dogs enter into a new life

Our trainer extraordinaire Amy with Chippy, on his first public debut. He's been undergoing eye surgery and heartworm treatment, so he was happy to get out with the people today.

Our trainer extraordinaire Amy with Chippy, on his first public debut. He’s been undergoing eye surgery and heartworm treatment, so he was happy to get out with the people today.

Then we moved to the inside where Diamond made herself at home, the center of attention.

Then we moved to the inside where Diamond made herself at home, the center of attention.

Wanda and Leslie are listening intently. The puppy, not so much.

Wanda and Leslie are listening intently. The puppy, not so much.

I adore this picture of Melanie, holding her sage with one of the dog fighting sheds behind her. Powerful!

I adore this picture of Melanie, holding her sage with one of the dog fighting sheds behind her. Powerful!

We finally walked out to the sheds were the abuses occurred and blessed them

We finally walked out to the sheds were the abuses occurred and blessed them

Here come those doggies, oh, and the wonderful people too

Here come those doggies, oh, and the wonderful people too

Rev. John cleanses the shed area with the water, it was very, very moving.

Rev. John cleanses the shed area with the water, it was very, very moving.

After the ceremony, I drove to my home with Joe, where I will be spending a quiet Mother’s Day resting by his side with my companions Sloan, Mitsy, Tuna, and Princess Vivian. I will continue my fast, however, which will not be fun on Mother’s Day when I’m used to eating at a nice restaurant with my family! But I will do so.

Thank you for sharing and believing in me. To view the timeline and evidence of the cases, visit our website at http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/surrycounty.html

Standard