Sit Down and Be a Good Little Girl

I am told many things about my hunger strike, but the overwhelming message is “Sit down and be a good little girl. You’re embarrassing yourself with your antics.”

If I am, it is in the quest for truth and justice.

I was told yesterday by a woman I met in Surry to remember it’s about justice and that’s all you’re asking for.

She inspired me with a story about how she fought for justice in Surry County, and finally won. She said there were many nights she went to bed crying, and woke up and decided to fight again.

She knows how I feel.

I have a few questions for those who seem to think I’m just foolish:

Since when has only taking $1000 been NOT the crime of embezzling?

Since when has it been ok to seize a dog without being listed on a search warrant?

Since when has it been ok to arrest someone for cruelty without a single shred of evidence of abuse?

Since when has it been ok for a DA to decide not to charge in a case in which he is way too involved to make an unbiased decision?

Since when has it been ok to drop charges against dog fighters but drum up charges against a dog activist in order to run them out of town?

Since when is it not ok to stand up for yourself when you are falsely accused and your organization has been the victim of a crime?

The rest of the world may turn a blind eye. But I see injustice and I know it’s wrong. And I’m standing up for my truth and what is right.

On the bright side, our fencing is being installed! Here are two photos, when I left yesterday and when I came back.

Here's what it looked like when I left

Here’s what it looked like when I left

Here's what the fence looked like when I came back.

Here’s what the fence looked like when I came back.

In really sad news, we lost our Surry County chained rescue Chippy last night. The caretaker, Tim L., texted me at 10:00 p.m. asking me to come down and look at Chippy. I immediately noticed the signs of bloat, and we rushed him to the emergency vet.

Unfortunately for us, the closest emergency vet is about 45 minutes away, and every second counts with bloat.

Tim comforting Chippy while we wait for the diagnosis

Tim comforting Chippy while we wait for the diagnosis

As it turned out, it was indeed bloat, but not caused by his evening meal, as is often the case. In that case, as long as you get to the vet quickly, they can do surgery and untwist the stomach so the dog will survive.

Unfortunately, in Chippy’s case, the bloat was caused instead by a large tumor on his spleen, that had metastisized to his lungs. He was in tremendous pain as the bloat was all around the tumor. There was nothing that could be done to save him, and we had to immediately let him go to end his suffering.

Thank you to Tim for noticing and getting help for him. Without that, Chippy would have died in extreme pain overnight, and at least we were able to end his suffering. He died with Tim and I both petting him and talking to him soothingly.

Chippy was the dog we watched on the chain since moving to VA. We were so excited to finally be able to rescue him two months ago. We are especially grateful that he had time to know life off the chain.

Chippy found his voice after rescue. On the chain, we never ever saw him bark. But once he got to DDB, he opened his mouth and barked every time he wanted attention, or he was not happy with anything that was going on. He wasn’t content to just lay down and relax like a retired dog, he wanted to live life and live it to the fullest. He discovered the joy of toys, and especially delighted in destroying them, which was adorable to watch. We thought he might have a good deal of time left, because he was so determined and energetic.

At least he died knowing life inside a home, and knowing love. He didn’t die at the end of his chain. For that we are grateful.

Chippy on his Surry County chain

Chippy on his Surry County chain

Chippy runs in the field for the first time

Chippy runs in the field for the first time

Chippy was loved by the staff at DDB

Chippy was loved by the staff at DDB

We love you Chippy. To watch a video of Chippy’s rescue and buy the song that goes with it, visit this youtube link:

To visit the evidence page and contact authorities for justice, go to http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/surrycounty.html

To sign our petition, visit http://www.change.org/petitions/gerald-g-poindexter-attorney-surry-va-end-harassment-of-dog-activist-do-your-job-or-recuse-yourself

Standard