I Feel Like I’m in the Twilight Zone

Yesterday I was sitting there on the Commonwealth lawn, and Poindexter comes out of his office trailing Tracy Terry behind him. He says “Come on, let’s go talk to her.”

“Here we go” I think to myself.

He tells me to come into his office to review the case file on the embezzling charge. I say ok. He hands me the letter (the first page only) of the state police woman’s synopsis of the case, and he says, “See, there’s no embezzling there.”

I point to the figure she has ON the VERY FIRST PAGE of the letter, in the amount of $1006.22. I tell him it’s right there.

He grabs the paper back from me, and starts calling me a liar. Over and over he calls me a liar, and then he again tells me to go into his office to review the case file.

So I do.

It has these figures in it, the same figures he copied and gave to me on May 9. The figures don’t change. The state police officer, a cpa, spent a lot of time putting the case together. They don’t do that if there’s no case. She had it neatly laid out in a binder, but Poindexter obviously hasn’t read ANY of the case.

He certainly doesn’t understand it, either by his own wishful thinking or malevolence.

He continues to insist that there was no money taken from the organization through her paycheck, which is patently false, and the investigation by the officer proves it. Apparently he’s calling the investigating officer a liar as well, then, because she clearly shows a loss to the organization of $1006.22.

Felony embezzling is anything over $200.00.

I can’t imagine why we are even having this conversation. I truly feel like I’ve stepped into some alternate reality where facts before me are not facts and Poindexter is insistent that I don’t believe the facts that I know to be true.

The conversation escalates to yelling as he continues to maintain that nothing was taken and I point out that even her last pay is enough for a charge of felony embezzling because it shows an amount of $370.52 over what she was entitled in and of itself.

He tells me someone else paid her that, not her. That, again, is untrue, and he would know that if he read the case file the officer painstakingly put together for him.

Not only that, but from a logical standpoint, why on earth would anyone else deliberately pay someone else over and not themselves? That makes no sense whatsoever.

He finally throws me out of his office, saying he hoped I could see reason, but I’m obviously incapable of it.

What a bizarre experience.

Maybe Poindexter needs some new glasses? If you have any you don’t need, he might could use some.

Gerald G. Poindexter
Commonwealth’s Attorney
P. O. Box 358
Surry, VA 23883 
Phone:   (757) 294-3118
Fax:       (757) 294-3560
 
Contact Gerald Poindexter from this form, tell him you’ve seen the evidence that the officer gave him, and he either needs to charge or recuse himself from the case if he can’t do his job or understand the case file that the officer provided. Thank you!
 
http://www.surrycountyva.gov/departments/contact/commonwealths-attorney
 
This is the paper I was given May 9, and it shows the officers calculations. Money had to be backed out of what was missing because when she initially added extra hours, she used the wrong hourly wage, so then later when we investigated that was added back into the figures.

This is the paper I was given May 9, and it shows the officers calculations. Money had to be backed out of what was missing because when she initially added extra hours, she used the wrong hourly wage to calculate it, so then later when we investigated that was added back into the figures, making the final amount taken less than it initially appears. However, as you can see, the final paycheck alone is enough for a felony charge.

Make no mistake about it, Dogs Deserve Better initially just asked her to give the money back and did not want to press charges. We just wanted it over and done with. It’s very disappointing for a nonprofit to have people come in and take advantage of our trust in this way.

However, she refused to even acknowledge that she took the money, and instead framed me for cruelty in order to take the heat off her.

It has worked. It’s a real shame that we live in a world where those who commit crimes are not charged and those who do nothing wrong are drug through the mud.

I want justice for myself, my organization, and what has been taken from us.

It’s very hard for me to believe that Poindexter doesn’t have anyone he is accountable to for his actions. How can this be?

To see all the evidence, visit our page at http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/surrycounty.html.

Please write to the people listed on the page and then sign our petition for justice. Thank you.

 

Standard