Two Surry County Guys Actually Thanked Me

Yesterday was a rainy day in Surry County, Va, but I was still out there with my signs, and volunteer Will came out with me and we got more active in our protest.

If you don’t know the background of the hunger strike for Surry County justice, read about it here: http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/surrycounty.html

Day 28 had some pretty crazy rain storms

Day 28 had some pretty crazy rain storms

I got more active with my sign, but only while Will was there, in case I went down

I got more active with my sign, but only while Will was there, in case I went down

Will has the enthusiasm for justice that only the youth can bring to the table!

Will has the enthusiasm for justice that only the youth can bring to the table!

On Friday, I was touched and thankful for two different men who came up to me. The first came bearing two big bottles of water, and said “I’ve been seeing you out here daily, and I just wanted to thank you for standing up to the corruption that has run rampant in Surry County for years and years. A lot of us talk about it, we complain about it, but you are out here trying to do something about it, and I wanted to thank you for that.”

Aw! I almost cried. So many people drive by, acting like they don’t see me, I feel like I’m getting nowhere with any government officials, but at least SOME of the local people are happy to see someone taking a stand.

I guess you have to start somewhere.

A few people have told me that they are afraid to come and talk to me because they are afraid that they too will get a target on their backs just from talking to me.

One guy came up, gave me a slip of paper with his phone number on it, and told me to call him while he stood a block away so that Poindexter wouldn’t see him talking to me!

Weird and really kinda scary. And there I sit each day for 28 days, openly opposing what I see is intensely wrong corruption in the county authorities.

Another guy came up and asked if he could get me anything, and said pretty much the same thing, that he appreciated me taking the stand. He said that one of his friends has been harassed for 20 years and has been doing nothing wrong but it continues to this day.

I don’t know the outcome of what I’ve been doing, and I pray daily for justice. Sometimes that’s all you can do.

Once again, to read about the cases and see the evidence, visit http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/surrycounty.html

To sign our petition, please visit this link: http://www.change.org/petitions/gerald-g-poindexter-attorney-surry-va-end-harassment-of-dog-activist-do-your-job-or-recuse-yourself

Standard